CLERK'S OFFICE

Submitted by: Chairman of the Assembly at the

Request of the Mayor

For reading:

Prepared by: Department of Law

AUGUST 15, 2000

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA AO No. 2000-131

1	AN ORDINANCE AMENDING ANCHORAGE MUNICIPAL CODE CHAPTER 1.35 BY ENACTING					
2	AN ORDINANCE DELINEATING WHICH PRINCIPAL EXECUTIVE PERSONNEL AND MEMBERS					
3	OF BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS SHALL TAKE AND SUBSCRIBE AN OATH OF OFFICE.					
4						
5						
6	THE ANCHO	ORAG	E ASS	EMBLY ORDAINS		
7						
8	Section 1.	Anc	horage	Municipal Code Chapter .35 is amended by adding a new section to read as		
9	follows:		•			
10						
11	1.35.0	010	Prin	cipal Executive Personnel, Boards and Commissions.		
12						
13	Α	Oath	of Off	ice. The principal executive personnel and members of boards and commissions		
14		set f	orth in	subsection B of this section shall take and subscribe to the following oath of		
15				undertaking the duties of office:		
16			•			
17			"I so	olemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the		
18			Con	stitution of the United States, the Constitution of the State of		
19			Alas	ka and the Charter of Anchorage, and that I will faithfully		
20			perf	orm the duties of to the best of my ability."		
21			•			
22	В	Prine	cipal Ex	secutive Personnel and Members of Boards and Commissions Who Shall Take		
23		the (the Oath of Office. The following officials and municipal executives shall take and subscribe			
24		to the oath of office:				
25						
26		1	Elec	ted Officials, including		
27						
28			8.	Mayor		
29			b	Assembly members		
30			C.	School Board members		
31			d.	Elected and appointed members of boards of supervisors for service areas		
32	•			and limited road service areas.		
33						
34		2	Prin	cipal municipal executives whose office is created by Municipal Charter or		
35			AMC 3.20, including:			
36						
37			a.	Municipal Attorney		
38			b .	Municipal Manager		
39			C.	Municipal Clerk		
40			d	Director of External Affairs		
41			e.	Chief Fiscal Officer		
42	I					

1		Ombudsman
2	٤	Internal Auditor
3		
4	3 1	Municipal Department Heads and Managers whose office is created under AMC
5	3	3.20.060, including:
6		
7		a. Chief of Police
8	ŧ	Fire Chief
9		c. General Manager – Municipal Light & Power
10	(d. General Manager – Anchorage Water & Wastewater
11		Director - Solid Waste Services
12	í	f. Director – Merrill Field
13		Director – Heritage Land Bank
14		Port Director
15	i	
16	j	
17	1	Director – Employee Relations
18	_	Director – Cultural & Recreational Services
19	_	n Director – Public Transportation
20		n. Director – Community Services & Development Director – Planning
21		m m.19 47 1
22	-	
23 24		q. Director – Customer Service :. Director – Project Management
24 25		Birector - Office of Emergency Management
26	•	Transportation Inspector
27	1	a. Director – Office of Management & Budget
28		v. Purchasing Officer
29		w Director – Police & Fire Retirement
30		
31	4. I	Members of regulatory and adjudicatory boards and commissions as set forth in AMC
32		1.40, including, but not limited to:
33		
34	8	a. Anchorage port commission
35	1	Board of building regulation examiners and appeals
36		c. Board of equalization
37	(d. Board of ethics
38		e. Emergency medical service board
39	4	Employee relations board
40		Equal rights commission
41	1	h. Personnel review board
42		Planning and zoning commission
43		Platting board
44]	k. Transportation commission
45		Zoning board of examiners and appeals
46	1	m Urban design commission
47		

Members of Commission on Salaries and Emoluments. Section 2. This ordinance shall become effective immediately upon its passage and approval by the Assembly. PASSED AND APPROVED by the Anchorage Assembly this 12th day of Systember, 2000.

Chair of the Assembly ATTEST: Municipal Clerk